Indiana Hoosiers

About Indiana Hoosiers

The Indiana Hoosiers football team have been competing in intercollegiate football since 1887 and represent Indiana University Bloomington. The program has produced a number of College Football Hall of Fame inductees, although the team has an all-time losing record and on-the-field success has been fairly limited. Their main rivals include the Purdue Boilermakers, the Illinois Fighting Illini, the Michigan State Spartans and the Kentucky Wildcats. The rivalry with Purdue is their most intense and the two programs compete for the Old Oaken Bucket.

In the 1945 season, with Bo McMillin serving as the program's head coach, Indiana won their first ever Big Ten Conference Championship. This remains their only outright Conference Title and Bo McMillin still has the best winning percentage of any Indiana coach. The team claimed a Big Ten co-championship in 1967 and was invited to compete in the Rose Bowl, which they lost to National Champions, Southern California.

To date, Indiana have only managed to appear in nine bowl games throughout their history and their record currently stands at 3-6. Their most recent appearance came in the 2007 Insight Bowl, which they eventually lost to the Oklahoma State Cowboys.

Anthony Thompson is perhaps the program's most notable former player. He won the Maxwell Award, the Walter Camp Award and the Big Ten Player of the Year Award for the 1989 season and has since been inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. Other alumni include Pro Football Hall of Fame inductee, Pete Pihos, as well as Antwaan Randle El, who went on to win the Super Bowl with the Pittsburgh Steelers.

The team play home games at Memorial Stadium (Indiana), which is n...

Loading ...