Indianapolis Colts

About Indianapolis Colts

The Indianapolis Colts were initially founded in 1953, although the franchise can claim that its roots date back to the formation of the Dayton Triangles in 1913. The team began life in Baltimore, Maryland, under the name the Baltimore Colts. Prior to their entry into the National Football League, another team from Baltimore, also called the Colts, had competed in the All-America Football Conference.

At the beginning of 1984, the Colts' lease on the Memorial Stadium in Baltimore expired. The team wanted the city to renovate the stadium, but the city showed no interest in doing so. As a result, the Colts began to negotiate with other cities. By the end of March of that year, the Baltimore Colts had moved to Indianapolis, where they adopted their current name.

In recent times, the Colts have forged an intense rivalry with the New England Patriots thanks to the emergence of Tom Brady and Peyton Manning. This rivalry dates back to the 1970s, but has increased in importance since the Colts were moved to AFC South at the beginning of the 21st century.

In total, the Colts won three NFL Championships prior to the NFL-AFL merger and have won two Super Bowls since the merger. The team’s first Super Bowl win came in the 1970 season after beating the Dallas Cowboys while still in Baltimore. The second Super Bowl win came in 2006 against the Chicago Bears. The Colts have amassed seven Conference Championships, 15 Division Championships and have reached the playoffs 26 times.

Indianapolis Colts Championships

NFL Championships

  • 1958: Baltimore Colts 23, New York Giants 17
  • 1959: Baltimore Colts 31, New York Giants 16
  • 1968: Baltimore Colts 34, Cleveland Browns 0

Super Bowl Champ...

Loading ...