Iowa Hawkeyes

About Iowa Hawkeyes

The Iowa Hawkeyes represent the University of Iowa and have been active as a varsity team since 1889. The team have been a part of the Big Ten Conference since 1900. They have rivalries with several teams, including the Iowa State Cyclones, the Minnesota Golden Gophers, the Nebraska Cornhuskers and the Wisconsin Badgers. Iowa and Iowa State compete for the Cy-Hawk Trophy, while the Hawkeyes contest the Floyd of Rosedale with Minnesota, the Heroes Trophy with Nebraska and the Heartland Trophy Wisconsin.

At the end of the 1958 season, Iowa were ranked #2 in the AP Poll; their best ever final ranking. However, the vote was taken prior to the Rose Bowl, which Iowa won, beating the California Golden Bears 38-12. As a result, the Football Writers Association of America selected the Hawkeyes as the winners of the National Title. It remains the team's only National Championship to date.

In total, Iowa have won 11 Big Ten Conference Championships, with their most recent win coming in 2004. The team have made 26 appearances in bowl games and currently possess a 14-11-1 record in them. Altogether, the Hawkeyes have amassed over 100 weeks in the top ten of the AP Poll and have made the final rankings on 21 occasions.

Three former Iowa players have gone on to be inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame: Emlen Tunnell, Paul Krause and Andre Tippett. The team has also produced one Heisman Trophy winner; Nile Kinnick in 1939. Kinnick died during his time serving in the US Navy during the Second World War. He has been honored by the Hawkeyes by having his number 24 jersey retired.

Since its opening in 1929, the team have played their home games at Kinnick Stadium, previously known ...

Loading ...