Iowa State Cyclones

About Iowa State Cyclones

The Iowa State Cyclones represent Iowa State University and have been an active team since 1892. They have enjoyed some major success throughout their history, especially in the early years of the 20th century. Historically, their main rivals have been the Iowa Hawkeyes, the Missouri Tigers and the Kansas State Wildcats. The rivalry with Iowa dates back to 1894 and the two teams have contested the Cy-Hawk Trophy since its inception in 1977.

After fifteen years of competing as an independent, Iowa State joined the MVIAA Conference in 1907 and it was during this time that the school enjoyed its most successful period. With Clyde Williams as head coach, the team won back-to-back Conference Championships in 1911 and 1912.

In 1996, the team became a charter member of the Big 12 Conference. Here, Iowa State added to their two Conference Championships with a Big 12 Conference North Division win in 2004. In total, the team have competed in twelve post-season bowl games throughout history and currently have a record of 3-9. The Cylones' most recent appearance came in the 2012 Liberty Bowl, which they lost to Tulsa. They have been ranked in the final AP Poll of the season twice, in 1976 and 2000, placing in 19th and 25th place, respectively.

Troy Davis, George Amundson and Karl Nelson are amongst the most notable players to have come through the Iowa State program over the years. In 1996, Troy Davis was voted as the runner up for the prestigious Heisman Trophy.

Since 1975, the team have played home games at Jack Trice Stadium, which was originally known as Cyclone Stadium. The venue has undergone renovations several times and currently has an official capacity of 55,000. Howeve...

Loading ...