Jacksonville Jaguars

About Jacksonville Jaguars

The Jacksonville Jaguars entered the National Football League as an expansion team, making their debut in the league in 1995. They became the NFL's thirtieth franchise and the city was considered a surprising choice for an expansion team with strong bids coming from St. Louis and Baltimore at the same time. The Jaguars are currently the only team from the city of Jacksonville to compete in any of the United States' major sports leagues - the NFL, the NHL, the NBA and MLB.

After a steady start to the team's existence, the Jaguars had a wildly successful second season in 1996. The team finished the year red-hot by winning six of its final seven regular season games and earned a spot in the playoffs as a result. In their first ever playoff game, the Jaguars defeated the Buffalo Bills. Then, in their second game, they stunned the heavily-favored Denver Broncos in one of the biggest upsets in NFL history. Finally, their season came to an end when they fell to the New England Patriots in the AFC Championship Game.

In 1998, the Jaguars won the AFC Central Division and followed that up with a second division championship in 1999. Jacksonville went a franchise-best 14-2 during the 1999 campaign and reached the postseason in four of its first five seasons. In total, the team has made the playoffs six times, with the most recent appearance coming in 2007. The team has never won a conference or league title.

Notable Jaguars Players

  • Jimmy Smith
  • Tony Boselli
  • Fred Taylor
  • Keenan McCardell
  • Mark Brunell
  • Marcus Stroud

EverBank Field

Since the team's inception in 1995, the Jacksonville Jaguars have played home games at EverBank Field, which was formerly known as Jackso...

Loading ...