Founded In
Torino, Italy

About Juventus

Juventus Football Club was formed in 1897 as Sport Club Juventus and was renamed Foot-Ball Club Juventus shortly after. In 1906, a split within the club led to the formation of Torino FC and the two teams maintain a rivalry to this day, known as the Turin Derby or the Derby della Mole.

During the early years, Juventus won the old Prima Divisione on two occasions in the 1920s and became Italy's first professional club. After the formation of Serie A in the 1929-30 season, Juventus went on to dominate the league, winning it on five successive occasions, starting with the 1930–31 season. Similar levels of success were experienced during the 1970s and 1980s.

Juventus have won Serie A on 26 occasions and the top division of Italian football on 28 occasions in total. In addition, they have won the Coppa Italia nine times, the European Cup twice, the UEFA Cup three times and the UEFA Cup Winners' Cup once. The club is officially recognised as the most successful Italian club of all time and, in 1985, became the first team in Europe to win all three major UEFA tournaments. However, in 2006 the club became embroiled in the "Calciopoli" scandal, which saw them accused and found guilty of match-fixing. As a result, the club was retrospectively stripped of two further league titles, won in 2005 and 2006.

Throughout the years, many of football's biggest stars have worn the Juventus shirt. The list of great players to represent the club includes names like Felice Borel, Roberto Baggio, Gianluca Vialli, Zinedine Zidane, Edgar Davids, Pavel Nedvěd and Gianluigi Buffon. Alessandro Del Piero served as club captain for 11 years and holds the records for most appearances (705) and most goals (290).

In 2011, the club moved to Juventus Stadium, which has a capacity of 41,000. Previously, the club had played its home matches at the Stadio delle Alpi, which proved to be unpopular with Juve supporters. 

Loading ...