Founded In
København, Denmark

About København

Football Club København, often known as FC Copenhagen, was established in 1992, although its history dates back to the foundation of Kjøbenhavns Boldklub in 1876. Kjøbenhavns Boldklub were the most successful side in Danish football, but in 1992, they decided to merge their first team with that of Boldklubben 1903, in order to create FC København. The team took Boldklubben 1903's club license in order to enter the top tier of Danish football. The side's main rivalry is with Brøndby IF and the 'New Firm' games between the two are widely considered the most important matches the country.

The club quickly established itself as a major force in the Danish league, winning the league title in 1993, finishing as runners up in 1994 and lifting the Danish Cup in 1995. However, they would have to wait until after the turn of the 21st century for their second taste of league success.

Since the new millennium, København have dominated the league, being crowned champions in 2001, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2013, to take their total haul up to ten league titles. The club have lifted the Danish Cup a total of five times and achieved the league and cup double in 2004 and 2009. Other domestic honours include a Danish League Cup win in 1996 and three Danish Super Cups. The team have entered the UEFA Champions League on multiple occasions and, in 2010–11, became the first Danish side to reach the knockout rounds of the competition.

Amongst the most notable footballers to have played for the club are names like Christian Lønstrup, Lars Jacobsen, Niclas Jensen, Christian Poulsen and Antti Niemi. All five players were voted into the København Hall of Fame by supporters in 2006.

København play their home matches at Parken Stadium, which opened in 1992, coinciding with the club's foundation. The stadium is also used by the Denmark national team and has a capacity of 38,065

Loading ...