Kansas Jayhawks

About Kansas Jayhawks

The Kansas Jayhawks represent the University of Kansas and are one America's oldest college football programs. They have been active in intercollegiate football since 1890 and have achieved notable success in the sport over the years. Historically, the team have had three major rivals: the Kansas State Wildcats, the Missouri Tigers and the Nebraska Cornhuskers. The rivalry with Kansas State is known as 'the Sunflower Showdown', while the rivalry with Missouri has been dubbed 'the Border War'.

Kansas began play in the Western Interstate University Football Association and enjoyed instant success, winning Conference Championships in 1892, 1893 and 1895. After entering the Missouri Valley Conference, the Jayhawks claimed their fourth overall Conference Championship in the 1908 season.

Over the subsequent decades, Kansas remained in the Conference through its various name changes, including the Big Six, Big Seven and Big Eight. They won further Conference Titles in 1930, 1946, 1947 and 1968 in order to bring their total haul to eight. In 1996, they became a founding member of the Big 12 Conference. Kansas have appeared in a total of twelve bowl games and currently hold a 6-6 record in them. However, in 2012, their overall win percentage dropped below .500 for the first time since the 1890s.

Gale Sayers, Mike McCormack and John Riggins are amongst the notable players to have emerged through the program at Kansas. All three players have since been enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Sayers was also inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame, along with fellow Jayhawks like Jim Bausch, Ray Evans and John Hadl.

Kansas play their home games at the University of Ka...

Loading ...