Kansas State Wildcats

About Kansas State Wildcats

The Kansas State Wildcats have been active since 1896 and the program represents Kansas State University. Throughout its history, the team has an overall losing record which, as of the end of the 2012 season, stood at 486–615–41 (.444). However, the Wildcats have enjoyed several periods of significant success. Their main rivals are the Kansas Jayhawks, with whom they contest the Governor's Cup. The two teams have played annually since 1911, making it one of college football's longest uninterrupted rivalries. Secondary rivalries have also existed with Iowa State and Nebraska.

One of the team's most successful periods came about in the late 1990s and early 2000s. During this time, the Wildcats completed an unbeaten regular season (11–0) in 1998. They also featured in the AP Poll for 108 straight weeks, stretching from 1995 to 2001, which remains one of the top 15 longest streaks ever recorded.

Throughout history, Kansas State have amassed six Conference championships, with those wins coming in 1909, 1910, 1912, 1934, 2003 and 2012. The Wildcats have competed in 16 bowl games in total and have a 6-10 record. During his two spells as head coach, Bill Snyder has been awarded many coaching honors, including the AP College Football Coach of the Year Award in 1998 and the Sporting News National Coach of the Year Award in 2011.

To date, two Kansas State players have been inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame: Gary Spani and Mark Simoneau. In addition, Lynn Dickey and Steve Grogan have had their numbers retired by the program as a mark of respect.

Since 1968, the Wildcats have played their home games at Bill Snyder Family Football Stadium, formerly known as KSU Stadiu...

Loading ...