Kent State Golden Flashes

About Kent State Golden Flashes

The Kent State Golden Flashes have been active in college football since 1920 and represent Kent State University. Since its foundation, dozens of the program's players have gone on to play professionally in the NFL and the Canadian Football League. The Golden Flashes' main rivals are the Akron Zips and the rivalry dates back to 1923.

During the early 1920s, the team made a difficult start to life in college football and, aside from a win via forfeit in their first season, Kent State failed to win a game until November 1925, when they defeated West Liberty State College. This period also included the heaviest defeat in the team's history; a 118-0 defeat at the hands of Baldwin-Wallace College.

Although success has not been commonplace for the Golden Flashes, they have enjoyed two major triumphs. The first came in the 1972 season, with Don James serving as head coach, when Kent State claimed the Mid-American Conference Championship; their only Conference Title this far. Then, in 2012, the team won the Mid-American Conference East Division Title, under the guidance of Coach Darrell Hazell. The team have competed in two post-season bowl games, the 1972 Tangerine Bowl and the 2012 GoDaddy.Com Bowl. Unfortunately, on both occasions, Kent State were beaten.

Over the years, the program has produced a number of successful NFL players. Two of the most notable examples are Jack Lambert and Josh Cribbs. Both players have had their numbers retired by Kent State as a mark of respect and Lambert was enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1990.

Dix Stadium, formerly known as Memorial Stadium, plays host to the team's home games. The venue was built in 1969 and initially held ...

Loading ...