Founded In
Lanús, Provincia de Buenos Aires, Argentina

About Lanús

Club Atlético Lanús, often known more simply as Lanús, was formed in January 1915. The team was created when a previously existing team, Lanús United, suffered financial difficulties and decided to merge with Club El Progreso. The sports club is based in the Lanús district of Buenos Aires and also competes in a number of other sports; most notably in basketball. The football team's biggest historic rivals are Club Atlético Banfield.

The new side began play in the amateur era and was placed into the División Intermedia. In 1919, Lanús gained promotion to the top flight for the first time. Having initially struggled in the division, they achieved a 3rd place finish in 1927, finishing behind Boca Juniors and San Lorenzo. After the professionalisation of Argentine football in 1931, the team began to struggle once again and in 1949, they were relegated. They returned to the top flight at the first time of asking.

However, the club would have to wait until 1996 for their first taste of major honours. In that year, Lanús won international silverware in the shape of the Copa CONMEBOL, beating Club Santa Fe in the final. In 2007, the team achieved major domestic success, as they emerged victorious in the Apertura 2007 tournament to claim their first ever Primera División title.

Atilio Ducca currently holds the record for most appearances for the team, while Luis Arrieta is Lanús's all-time top goalscorer with 120 goals. Other notable talents to have played for the club include Juan Héctor Guidi, Gilmar Villagrán, Hugo Morales and Ariel Ibagaza.

Lanús play their home games at the Estadio Ciudad de Lanús – Néstor Díaz Pérez. It first opened in 1929 and has become affectionately known as "The Fortress". Since 2010, the stadium has been undergoing renovations, including the construction of a new roof and improved facilities. The maximum capacity currently stands at 46,519.

Loading ...