Founded In
León de los Aldamas, Mexico

About León

Club Social y Deportivo León was first established in August 1944. Over the years, the team have been amongst the most successful in Mexican football. However, between 2002 and 2012, León spent ten years outside of the top flight before achieving promotion once again. The club's oldest rivals are Unión de Curtidores, with whom they contest the Derby de León, but their biggest rivalry is now with Irapuato FC. Matches between the two sides are referred to as the Clásico del Bajio.

The 1948 season was historic for Club León, as they became Primera División champions for the first time. The following year, they repeated their Primera División success and in addition, they lifted the Copa México. In doing so, they become the first club in history to win both trophies in a single season. This achievement is known as the Campeonísimo.

In total, León have amassed five Primera División titles, with their other wins coming in 1952, 1956 and 1992. Further domestic success has been achieved in the Copa México, which they have also lifted five time, while they have been crowned Campeón de Campeones on four occasions. Success in international competitions has been beyond the team's reach so far, although they have come close on multiple occasions. In 1993 they reached the final of the CONCACAF Champions' Cup, but were beaten by Costa Rican side Deportivo Saprissa. In 1998, they reached the semi-final stage of the competition before being eliminated.

Some of the best-known talents to have played for the club throughout its history include names like Adalberto López, Luis Estrada and Rafael Márquez.

León play their home matches at the Estadio León, which is also sometimes known as the Nou Camp. The ground has been used as a venue for two FIFA World Cups, as well as the 1968 Olympic Games. At present, the stadium is able to hold a maximum of 33,943 supporters for football matches.   

Loading ...