Liaoning Whowin

Founded In
Shenyang, China PR

About Liaoning Whowin

Liaoning Whowin Football Club was established in its current professional state in 1995, although the club's history can be traced back to the foundation of Northeast China Football Club in 1953. Northeast China went on to become known as Liaoning Football Club and achieved huge success, winning nine league titles and several other cup competitions. Since their rebirth as a professional team, Liaoning Whowin have struggled to reach the same level.

At the end of their first season as a professional side, Liaoning Whowin were relegated from the top flight of Chinese football and subsequently remained out of it for three years. This period marked the first time that Liaoning FC had not been present in the top division since the club's foundation. A second place finish in 1998 ensured the club's return to the top tier, although they suffered a second relegation in 2008 before bouncing straight back the following year.

Aside from winning the second tier, China League One, in 2009, the club has not yet achieved a league title success since joining the professional ranks. Their best performance in the top flight came in 1999, with the team finishing the season in 2nd place. In both 1998 and 2002, the club finished as runners up in the Chinese FA Cup. In 2011, the team's head coach Ma Lin was named Manager of the Year after guiding his side to a top three finish.

Some of the most notable players to have played for the club include Chinese international Qu Shengqing, who won the Player of the Year award in 1999; Yu Hanchao, who spent eight seasons with the club from 2005 to 2012 and Bosnian international Alen Avdić.

Liaoning Whowin play their home matches at the Tiexi New District Sports Center in Shenyang. The venue is able to hold a maximum of 30,000 spectators.   

Loading ...