Founded In
1937 / 1983
Limerick, Republic of Ireland

About Limerick

Limerick Football Club was first established back in 1937 by the Limerick District Management Committee. The team have been the only senior football club in the city of Limerick since their foundation and have enjoyed some major success in domestic competitions. Over the years, they have been known by a number of names, including Limerick United and Limerick City, but adopted their current name in 2009.

The club entered the League of Ireland, then known as the Free State League, in the same year as their foundation. Although they finished their first season in 10th place, they also picked up their first trophy, after defeating Cork United in the final of the Munster Senior Cup.

In total, Limerick have been crowned as Irish champions on two occasions, with those title wins occurring twenty years apart, in 1959–60 and 1979–80. Further success has come in the domestic cup competitions, with the team winning the FAI Cup in 1971 and 1982 and the League of Ireland Cup in 1975–76, 1992–93 and 2001–02. In addition, they have won the Munster Senior Cup 12 times altogether and have picked up the Dublin City Cup three times. As a result of their domestic accomplishments, Limerick have played in several continental competitions. Their most famous European match came in 1980, when they faced Real Madrid in the European Cup.

Amongst the club's most notable former talents are Andy McEvoy, Sam Allardyce, Kevin Fitzpatrick and Johnny Walsh.

Limerick's home matches are played at Thomond Park, which opened in 1940. The stadium, which is affectionately referred to as Fortress Thomond, houses a number of other tenants, including Munster Rugby and Shannon RFC. It has 15,100 seats, although when standing room is taken into account the venue is able to hold a maximum of 26,500 supporters.

Loading ...