Lincoln Red Imps

Gibraltar, Gibraltar

About Lincoln Red Imps

Lincoln Football Club Gibraltar, often known by the more simple name of Lincoln FC, was first established by Charles Polson in the late 1970s. They have emerged as one of the most popular and successful teams in Gibraltar and have largely dominated league football in the territory over recent decades. During the early 2000s, the club operated under the name Newcastle United FC for several years, but reverted back to the Lincoln name ahead of the 2007-08 season.

Upon foundation, the club began competitive play in the fourth division. At that time, their squad was primarily made up of players who had been released by other clubs, like Glacis United and St Jago's, as well as footballers from a youth team known as the Blue Batons. However, by the 1980s, the club had scaled the league system and were competing in the top tier.

Over the years, Lincoln FC have been crowned as league champions on a total of 18 occasions, which includes a period of 11 consecutive wins, spanning from the 2003 season up to the 2012-13 season. Their first league title win came back in the 1986 campaign. Further success has come in the form of the Gibraltar Cup, also known as the Rock Cup, which they have won a total of 14 times, including eight wins in a row between 2004 and 2011. As a result, they also achieved eight consecutive league and cup doubles during this period of time. Their combined successes in the league and cup competitions currently make them the most decorated team in the history of Gibraltarian football.

As with the other teams in Gibraltar's Premier Division, Lincon FC's home matches are played at Victoria Stadium. Nicknamed Vic-Stad, the venue also houses the Gibraltar national team and is owned by the Gibraltar Sports and Leisure Authority. It is able to hold a total of 5,000 spectators.

Loading ...