Founded In
Lokeren, Belgium

About Lokeren

Koninklijke Sporting Club Lokeren Oost-Vlaanderen was first established in January 1923 under the name Racing Club Lokeren. It took on its current name in 2003. Usually known by the more simple name of Lokeren, the team reached the top flight of Belgian football for the first time in 1974-75. Over the years, the team has merged with several other clubs from the area, including Standaard F.C. Lokeren in 1970 and Sint-Niklase SKE in 2000.

The 1980s are usually seen as the team's golden era and the 1980-81 season in particular saw the club perform admirably. In that season, Lokeren eventually finished as runners up to Anderlecht in the league championship and to Standard Liège in the Belgian Cup. The team's consistency in the decade saw them qualify for the UEFA Cup in 1980–81, 1981–82, 1982–83 and 1987–88. The 1980–81 edition of the tournament brought about the team's best performance, as they reached the quarter final stage. During the 1990s, the club bounced between the first and second tiers several times, before achieving promotion in 1996 and remaining in the division.

Despite the 1980s being seen as the club's glory years, their first taste of major success came in the 2011-12 season, in the shape of the Belgian Cup. In the final of the tournament, they beat KV Kortrijk 1-0, with Tunisian international Hamdi Harbaoui scoring the winning goal. Their success gained Lokeren entry into the 2012-13 UEFA Europa League.

Some of the more notable players to have played for Lokeren over the years include Belgian international Raymond Mommens and Czech Republic striker Jan Koller.

Lokeren play their home games at Daknamstadion, which is named after the village of Daknam, where it is located. The stadium first opened in 1956 and was able to hold 18,000 spectators during the 1980s. However, today's capacity has been significant reduced for safety reasons. At present, it can hold a maximum of 9,560 supporters.   

Loading ...