Louisiana-Lafayette Ragin' Cajuns

About Louisiana-Lafayette Ragin' Cajuns

The Louisiana–Lafayette Ragin' Cajuns represent the University of Louisiana at Lafayette and have been playing intercollegiate football since 1902. The team's primary rivals are the Louisiana-Monroe Warhawks, with whom they contest what has become known as the 'Battle on the Bayou'. Other historic rivals have included the Lamar Cardinals, the McNeese State Cowboys and the Southeastern Louisiana Lions.

Having played at Small College level between 1963 and 1972, the team made the jump up to NCAA Division II for the 1973 season and then to NCAA Division I in 1974. Since 1978, they have competed in Division I-A, now known as Division I FBS.

Although the team have an all-time losing record, Louisiana-Lafayette have also achieved some significant successes within the sport. In total, the Ragin' Cajuns have won 14 Conference Championships, which includes a Co-Championship in the Sun Belt Conference in 2005. The team have appeared in two post-season Division I FBS bowl games and currently have a 100% record in them. They defeated the San Diego State Aztecs in the New Orleans Bowl in 2011 to win their first bowl game and beat the East Carolina Pirates in the 2012 edition to claim their second victory.

Several players have emerged from the Ragin' Cajuns program and have gone on to achieve success during their careers in the NFL. Notable examples include Brian Mitchell and Jake Delhomme. Mitchell is a former Super Bowl Champion and Pro Bowl selection, while Delhomme currently holds the record for the longest pass in Super Bowl history.

Cajun Field has staged the team's home games since it opened back in 1971. The venue, which has been nicknamed 'The Swamp' since the late 1980s, ...

Loading ...