Louisiana-Monroe Warhawks

About Louisiana-Monroe Warhawks

The Louisiana–Monroe Warhawks, previously known as the Northeast Louisiana Indians and sometimes referred to more simply as the ULM Warhawks, have been active since 1931 and represent the University of Louisiana at Monroe. The team's main rivalries are with the Louisiana–Lafayette Ragin' Cajuns, known as the 'Battle on the Bayou', and the Arkansas State Red Wolves, known as the 'Trail of Tears Classic'. Previously, the team's rivals also included the Northwestern State Demons and the Louisiana Tech Bulldogs, but both of these rivalries are currently inactive.

From the time of the team's foundation up until 1950, Louisiana-Monroe operated as a junior college, before spending the next couple of decades playing in the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics. From 1974 to 1993, the Warhawks competed at NCAA Division I-AA level, winning the National Championship in 1987, before climbing up to Division I-A level in 1994, where they have remained ever since.

In total, the team have won five Conference Championships, with four of those wins coming in the Southland Conference during their Division I-AA spell. Their most recent title was the 2005 Sun Belt Conference Co-Championship, which they shared with Arkansas State and Louisiana–Lafayette. Furthermore, the Warhawks have appeared in one NCAA bowl game, which was a loss to the Ohio Bobcats in the 2012 Independence Bowl.

A number of Warhawks players have gone on to compete in the NFL, with examples including former Super Bowl champions, like Stan Humphries, Bubby Brister and Doug Pederson, as well as Chris Harris and Marty Booker, who were both All-Pro selections. The program is currently represented in the NFL by Aa...

Loading ...