Louisville Cardinals

About Louisville Cardinals

The Louisville Cardinals have been active in intercollegiate football since 1912. They have risen to prominence over recent decades, enjoying some significant success along the way. Currently competing in the American Athletic Conference, from the 2014 season onwards the Cardinals will become part of the Atlantic Coast Conference. Their main rivals are the Kentucky Wildcats, with whom they compete for the Governor's Cup, as well as the Cincinnati Bearcats and the West Virginia Mountaineers.

During the early 1970s, the team enjoyed a taste of success in the Missouri Valley Conference, winning Conference Championships in 1970 and 1972. They played Long Beach State in the Pasadena Bowl in 1970 and the game ended in a tie. In 1977, they lost the Independence Bowl to Louisiana Tech.

In total, Louisville have claimed eight Conference Championships, with their other six wins all coming since the turn of the 21st century. These wins consist of three Conference USA championships, in 2000, 2001 and 2004, and three Big East Conference championships, in 2006, 2011 and 2012. The Cardinals have competed in 17 bowl games and currently possess an 8-8-1 record. The team made nine consecutive bowl game appearances between 1998 and 2006. Their most recent appearance came in 2013 Sugar Bowl, where they overcame the Florida Gators 33-23.

Perhaps the most notable player to emerge from the program was Johnny Unitas, who is widely regarded as one of the NFL's greatest ever players. Other notable alumni include Super Bowl XXXIX MVP Deion Branch, Otis Wilson, Ted Washington and Chris Redman.

Louisville have played their home games at Papa John's Cardinal Stadium since the venue's opening in 19...

Loading ...