LSU Tigers

About LSU Tigers

The LSU Tigers football program has been active since 1893 and represents Louisiana State University. Sometimes known as the Fighting Tigers, the team have achieved some significant success over the years and a total of 27 consensus All-Americans have come through the program. Their main rivals include the Tulane Green Wave, the Ole Miss Rebels, the Auburn Tigers and the Alabama Crimson Tide. The rivalry with Tulane is their oldest and the games between the two are known as the 'Battle for the Rag'.

At present, the team claim three National Championships, with those wins coming in 1958, 2003 and 2007. In addition, some sources have credited LSU with National Title wins in 1908, 1935, 1936, 1962 and 2011, although the school does not currently recognise any of these wins. At the end of the 2011 season, the Tigers participated in the BCS National Title Game, but eventually lost to the Alabama Crimson Tide.

Moreover, LSU have won a total of 14 Conference Championships, which includes 11 wins in the Southeastern Conference. Their most recent success came in the 2011 season, when they achieved an overall season record of 13-1. The team have won 8 Division Titles and have appeared in 44 post-season bowl games. Their last bowl game victory came in the 2011 Cotton Bowl Classic, where they defeated Texas A&M.

To date, the Tigers have produced one Heisman Trophy winner, Billy Cannon in 1959. Some of the team's other notable former players include Tommy Casanova, Jerry Stovall and Glenn Dorsey. Cannon, Casanova and Stovall have all been inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame.

The Tigers have played their home games at Tiger Stadium since 1924. The venue is also know...

Loading ...