Founded In
Luzern, Switzerland

About Luzern

Fussball Club Luzern, sometimes known as FCL for short, was founded in August 1901 and began competing in the Swiss Football League two years later. The team are known for their strong local fanbase and they regularly attract some of the largest attendances in Switzerland. Historically, the team's main local rivals have been SC Kriens, although they now play in seperate divisions, so the rivalry has subsided somewhat. Other rivals include FC Basel, Grasshopper and St. Gallen.

Upon foundation, Luzern were placed into the country's third tier and over the course of the subsequent decades, they bounced between the divisions. In 1944, the league system was restructured and the team were positioned in the second division. Nine years later, in 1953, the side were promoted to the top tier, then called Nationalliga A.

The club achieved its first major success in 1960, winning the Swiss Cup. In 1988-89, Luzern enjoyed their greatest success to date, as they were crowned Swiss champions for the first time, finishing ahead of their closest competitors, Grasshopper. A second Swiss Cup success followed in 1992 and to date, this remains the club's last piece of silverware. Since lifting their last trophy, Luzern have reached the final of the Swiss Cup on four occasions, in 1997, 2005, 2007 and 2012. Unfortunately, they were unsuccessful each time. Over the years, the team have represented Switzerland in the European Cup, the UEFA Cup and the UEFA Cup Winners' Cup.

Throughout history, a host of international footballers have played for the club, with some of the most notable examples including Ottmar Hitzfeld, John Eriksen, Sigurður Grétarsson and Alexander Frei.

The Swissporarena has served as the club's home since its opening in 2011. The venue replaced the club's previous home, Stadion Allmend, which was deemed unsuitable for use in the top division. Swissporarena is able to hold a maximum of 17,800 spectators.

Loading ...