Manchester City

Founded In
Manchester, England

About Manchester City

Manchester City Football Club was founded in 1880 as St. Mark's (West Gorton). They became Ardwick Association Football Club in 1887 and Manchester City in 1894. Supporters of City have enjoyed a roller coaster existence as the club famously has the habit of snatching defeat from the jaws of victory.

In the 1930s, Manchester City reached two consecutive FA Cup finals, losing to Everton in 1933, before beating Portsmouth in 1934.The club won the First Division title for the first time in 1937, but were relegated the following season, despite scoring more goals than any other team in the division. In the 50’s the club reached consecutive FA Cup finals again, in 1955 and 1956. Ironically just like in the 1930s, they lost the first one, and won the second. The ’56 Final when Manchester City beat Birmingham City 3–1, is one of the most famous finals of all-time, and is remembered for City goalkeeper Bert Trautmann continuing to play on after unknowingly breaking his neck.

In the late 60’s Manchester City claimed the League Championship for the second time. Further trophies followed: City won the FA Cup in 1969 before achieving European success by winning the European Cup Winners Cup the following season beating Gornik Zabrze  2–1. City also won the League Cup that season, becoming the second English team to win a European trophy and a domestic trophy in the same season.

Over the next thirty years City rolled from one disaster to another culminating in relegation to Division One and by 2008, the club was in a financially precarious position however in August 2008, the club was purchased by the Abu Dhabi United Group and immediately became one of the best funded clubs in world football.

Thanks to an influx of high priced stars, the FA Cup was won in 2011, their first major trophy in over thirty years and the following season the Premier League title was won for the first time thanks to two injury time goals in the last match of the season to pip their neighbors, Manchester United, to the title on goal difference.

The home ground of Manchester City is Etihad Stadium and was built for the 2002 Commonwealth Games. Its capacity is 47,805 and City became the tenant in 2003 after having played at Maine Road since 1923.

Major Honours

European Cup Winners' Cup 1970

First Division Champions/Premier League 1937, 1968, 2012
FA Cup 1904, 1934, 1956, 1969, 2011
League Cup 1970, 1976

Loading ...