Maryland Terrapins

About Maryland Terrapins

The Maryland Terrapins football team represents the University of Maryland, College Park. The college has officially sanctioned football since 1892 and the Terrapins name was adopted in 1933. The team have enjoyed significant success over the years and currently play in the Atlantic Coast Conference. However, in 2014, they will join the Big Ten Conference. Maryland are fairly unique in that they lack a true major rival. Their designated ACC rivals are Virginia, but for their part, Virginia have more heated rivalries with several other teams. As a result, some consider West Virginia to be the Terrapins' biggest rivals.

The 1951 season was hugely successful, as the Terrapins won the 1951 Southern Conference. They recorded a perfect season and went on to defeat Tennessee in the Sugar Bowl. However, back then, the final rankings were released before the bowl games and the Associated Press Poll ranked them third. Since then, several sources have retroactively awarded Maryland the 1951 National Championship.

In 1953, the team split from the Southern Conference. They won the ACC co-championship alongside Duke, claimed their second National Championship and were the only undefeated and untied team in the country. In total, the Terrapins have won eleven Conference Championships, with nine of them coming in the ACC.

The list of former Maryland players includes six College Football Hall of Fame inductees: Stan Jones, Randy White, Dick Modzelewski, Bob Ward, Jack Scarbath and Bob Pellegrini. Jones and White were also inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1991 and 1994, respectively.

The team play their home games at Capital One Field at Byrd Stadium, usually known more s...

Loading ...