Massachusetts Minutemen

About Massachusetts Minutemen

The UMass Minutemen program has been in operation since 1879 and represents the University of Massachusetts in college football. Throughout history, the team has been given several nicknames, including 'the Aggies' and 'the Redmen', and adopted 'the Minutemen' during the 1970s. The team's main rivals include the New Hampshire Wildcats, the Rhode Island Rams, the Boston College Eagles and the Connecticut Huskies. 

In 2011, the college announced its intention to elevate the program and transition into the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision. This process began with the team joining the Mid-American Conference at the start of the 2012 season. In 2013, the transition will be complete and the Minutemen will be eligible for the MAC Championship and allowed to compete in bowl games.

Success has primarily come in the form of non FBS Conference Championships, of which the team has amassed 22. The Minutemen have featured in a total of three FCS National Championship games and were successful in 1998, earning their first National Title. UMass have recorded three unbeaten seasons, in 1879, 1889 and 1963. In 1964, they appeared in the Tangerine Bowl, where they lost to East Carolina. The conclusion of the 1972 season saw UMass defeat UC Davis in the Boardwalk Bowl, which remains their only victory in a bowl game thus far.

To date, Milt Morin is the program's only player to have been inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. However, players like Khari Samuel, R.J. Cobbs and Steve Baylark all won Conference honors with the team.

Up until the 2014 season, the Minutemen will play their home games at Gillette Stadium, formerly known as CMGI Field. The venue is also the home of the N...

Loading ...