Mersin İdmanyurdu

Founded In
Mersin, Turkey

About Mersin İdmanyurdu

Mersin İdmanyurdu, also known as Mersin İY and MİY, were established back in August 1925. The club have rivalries with Adanaspor, Tarsus Idmanyurdu and Adana Demirspor. They are currently the only team in Turkey to have an all-female supporters group.

The club's first season in the top flight of Turkish football was the 1967–68 season. After avoiding relegation that season, they remained in the division until the end of the 1973–74 season. During the remainder of the 1970s and 1980s, the club bounced between the first and second tiers. The duration of the 1990s were spent in the second tier before relegation all the way to the third tier in 2000-01. The team's eventual return to the Süper Lig in 2011–12, under the management of Nurullah Sağlam, marked their first appearance in the top flight for almost thirty years.

Major silverware has been beyond the reach of Mersin İdmanyurdu so far, although they have come close on one occasion. In 1982-83, they were runners up in the Turkish Cup, losing 4-1 on aggregate to Fenerbahçe in the final. However, despite losing the match, Mersin İdmanyurdu were granted entry into the following season's European Cup Winners' Cup.

Some of the more notable players to have represented the club include the former Turkish international striker, Osman Arpacıoğlu, as well as Sertaç Yüzbaşıoğlu, Zafer Biryol, Mert Nobre and current club captain, Wissem Ben Yahia.

At present, Mersin İdmanyurdu play their home matches at the Tevfik Sırrı Gür Stadium, which has served as their home since its opening in 1958. The ground is named after a former governor of Mersin and is able to hold up to 17,128 fans. However, the club are set to move into the Mersin Olympic Stadium when construction is completed ahead of the summer of 2013. The new stadium will be able to hold a maximum of 25,534 supporters.   

Loading ...