Miami (FL) Hurricanes

About Miami (FL) Hurricanes

The Miami Hurricanes represent the University of Miami and the first season of the program took place in 1926. The team have enjoyed tremendous success over the years and many of their players have gone on to enjoy successful careers in the National Football League. Their traditional rivals are the Florida State Seminoles and the Florida Gators. In years where all three teams face each other, the Florida Cup is awarded to the overall winner of the three-way rivalry. So far, four Florida Cups have been awarded and Miami have won three of them.

The 1980s brought about huge success for the Hurricanes', as they claimed three National Championships during the decade, with the wins coming in 1983, 1987 and 1989. In the 1987 season, they achieved a perfect record of 12-0 and beat the Oklahoma Sooners in the Orange Bowl.

The 1990s brought about more success. In 1991, the team recorded another perfect season to claim their fourth National Championship, while they also won Conference Championships in 1991, 1992, 1994, 1995 and 1996. In 2001, Miami won their fifth National Championship, beating the Nebraska Cornhuskers in the Rose Bowl and once again completing a perfect 12-0 season. Between 1985 and 1994, the Hurricanes set an NCAA record for most consecutive home wins, with the streak lasting 58 games.

Over the years, two Miami Hurricanes have been awarded the Heisman Trophy: Vinny Testaverde in 1986 and Gino Torretta in 1992. Other notable players to come through the program include Ted Hendricks, Jim Kelly and Jim Otto. All five of those players have since been added to the University's 'Ring of Honor'.

Since 2008, Miami have played their home games at Sun Life Stadium, form...

Loading ...