Miami (OH) RedHawks

About Miami (OH) RedHawks

The Miami RedHawks football program has been in operation since 1888 and represents Miami University. Formerly known as the Miami Redskins, the team have enjoyed significant success and have produced many talented players over the years. Their main rivals are the Cincinnati Bearcats, with whom they compete for the Victory Bell. It is recognized as the oldest current non-conference rivalry in college football.

Due to its history of producing high-profile and successful head coaches, the program has earned the nickname 'the Cradle of Coaches'. Examples of successful coaches to come from the school include Earl Blaik, George Little and Woody Hayes, who were inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame and Weeb Ewbank, Paul Brown and Sid Gillman, who were enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Despite never winning a National Championship, Miami have enjoyed tremendous success, claiming a total of 22 Conference Titles. This includes 15 wins in the Mid-American Conference, with their most recent championship coming at the end of the 2010 season. Additionally, to date, they have competed in ten post-season bowl games and have an impressive 7-3 record. Their last win came in the 2011 Bowl, where they overcame the Middle Tennessee Blue Raiders.

Ben Roethlisberger, who currently plays for the Pittsburgh Steelers in the National Football League, is perhaps the college's best-known former player. The quarterback holds several team records and the school retired his jersey number as a mark of respect back in 2007. Other notable alumni include Bob Babich, Tom Crabtree and Zac Dysert.

Fred C. Yager Stadium, often known more simply as Yager Stadium, has been the ...

Loading ...