Michigan State Spartans

About Michigan State Spartans

Representing Michigan State University, the Michigan State Spartans have been active in football since 1885 and first gained varsity status in 1896. Throughout history, they have been successful on the field and have produced several players who have gone on to enjoy careers in the National Football League. Their main rivals are the Michigan Wolverines, with whom they contest the Paul Bunyan Trophy. Other rivalries exist with the Notre Dame Fighting Irish, the Penn State Nittany Lions and the Indiana Hoosiers.

The Spartans have won six National Championships in total. Their most successful period came during the 1950s, with the team claiming National Titles in 1951, 1952, 1955 and 1957. Their other two wins came in 1965 and 1966.

In addition to their National Championships, Michigan State have won two Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association Championships and seven Conference Championships since joining the Big Ten Conference. These wins occurred in 1953, 1965, 1966, 1978, 1987, 1990, and 2010. In 2011, the team won its first Division Title. They have made 23 appearances in bowl games and have a 9-14 record. Their most recent victory came in the 2012 Buffalo Wild Wings Bowl.

Two players that have emerged from the program have since been inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame: Herb Adderley and Joe DeLamielleure. Other notable alumni include Gene Washington, Bubba Smith, John Pingel and George Webster. All four of those players have been enshrined in the College Football Hall of Fame and were named in Michigan State's All-Time Team.

The team have played home games at Spartan Stadium since its opening in 1923. The venue has formerly gone by the names College F...

Loading ...