Michigan Wolverines

Michigan Wolverines

About Michigan Wolverines

The Michigan Wolverines have been active in intercollegiate football since 1879. Representing the University of Michigan, they have achieved huge levels of success and possess the highest number of wins and the best all-time win percentage of any college football team in the country. Their main rivals are the Ohio State Buckeyes, the Michigan State Spartans, the Notre Dame Fighting Irish and the Minnesota Golden Gophers. In 2000, their rivalry with Ohio State was named the best sports rivalry in North America by ESPN.

In total, the Wolverines have claimed eleven National Championships, with those wins coming in 1901, 1902, 1903, 1904, 1918, 1923, 1932, 1933, 1947, 1948 and most recently, in 1997. They have completed 23 undefeated seasons altogether, including twelve where they were not eventually awarded the National Title.

Furthermore, Michigan have won 42 Conference Championships, with only Oklahoma and Nebraska winning more. Since the creation of the AP Poll, the Wolverines have finished in the top ten on 37 occasions; more than any other team. They have made 42 appearances in post-season bowl games and their record in these games currently stands at 20-22. Their most recent win came in the 2012 Sugar Bowl, where they beat Virginia Tech.

Over the years, the program has produced three winners of the Heisman Trophy: Tom Harmon in 1940, Desmond Howard in 1991 and Charles Woodson in 1997. Harmon and Howard have since been inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. Additionally, several alumni have been enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame, including Len Ford, Dan Dierdorf and Benny Friedman.

The team play their home games at Michigan Stadium, which is nickn...