Minnesota Vikings

Minnesota Vikings

About Minnesota Vikings

The Minnesota Vikings were founded in 1960 as an NFL expansion team and played their first season in 1961. In the franchise’s first official regular season game, the Vikings defeated the Chicago Bears. In the process, the team became the first NFL expansion club ever to win its first game. They finished 3-11 during the team’s first full season as an NFL team.

Since that time, they have enjoyed significant success in the NFL, which includes one of the highest win percentages of any team in the league. The Vikings' biggest rivals are the Chicago Bears, the Detroit Lions and the Green Bay Packers.

The franchise has enjoyed substantial success during its history, with an NFL Championship win coming in 1969 before the AFL-NFL Merger. In addition to four Conference Championships, the team has won eighteen Division Championships and has made a total of twenty-seven playoff appearances, with its most recent playoff appearance coming following the 2012 season as a wild card team.

The team made its first Super Bowl appearance in Super Bowl IV, which was the last Super Bowl before the NFL-AFL merger. They eventually lost the game to the Kansas City Chiefs. The Vikings have since appeared in Super Bowls VIII, IX and XI, but lost each of those contests and remain without a Super Bowl win.

Minnesota Vikings Championships

NFL Championships

  • 1969: Minnesota Vikings 27, Cleveland Browns 7

Notable Vikings Players

  • Fran Tarkenton
  • Alan Page
  • Paul Krause
  • Ron Yary
  • Carl Eller
  • Randall McDaniel
  • Gary Zimmerman
  • John Randle
  • Chris Doleman
  • Chris Carter

TCF Bank Stadium

From 1982 through 2014, the Vikings played their home games at the Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome...