Founded In
Montpellier, France

About Montpellier

Montpellier Hérault Sport Club was originally founded as Stade Olympique Montpelliérain in 1919. The club was a founding team of the inaugural French first division in the 1932–33 season and is one of the few clubs from that era to currently play in the top tier today. Historically, Nîmes have served as the club's arch rivals.

Despite the Montpellier's long history, the club's current incarnation began in 1974, after the team merged with Louis Nicollin's club, known as Formation Sportive de Nettoiement. Many see the current club as a seperate entity from the old club and officially, Montpellier's foundation date is listed as 1974, rather than 1919.

For many years after the club's 1974 merger, it achieved only moderate success. At the end of the 1986–87 season, the team were crowned champions of Ligue 2 and gained promotion to the top flight. In 1990, Montpellier defeated RC Paris in the final to win the Coupe de France. An Intertoto Cup win in 1999 added to their success, while the club reached the final of the Coupe de la Ligue in 2011, but was unsuccessful. However, an incredible season in 2011-12, under the management of René Girard, sent shockwaves throughout the footballing community. Despite being considered huge underdogs for the title, Montpellier were crowned champions of French football, finishing three points ahead of Paris Saint-Germain.

Some of the more notable players to play for Montpellier over the years include names like Roger Milla, Laurent Blanc, Eric Cantona, Carlos Valderrama, Laurent Robert and Younès Belhanda. French international striker Olivier Giroud was the club's top goal scorer during their title winning season in 2011-12.

Montpellier play their home matches at the Stade de la Mosson. The stadium was renovated in 1997 so that it could be used as a venue for the 1998 FIFA World Cup, which was hosted in France. It currently holds a total capacity of 32,900. 

Loading ...