Founded In
Nürnberg, Germany

About Nürnberg

Football Club Nürnberg, known outside of Germany as FC Nuremberg, was founded in 1900 by a group of men who wished to form a football team, rather than play rugby, which was one of the most popular sports at that time. Historically, Nürnberg have been one of the best known clubs in the country. However, despite enjoying various successes over the years, they have also been relegated from the top flight on seven occasions.

After the team's formation, it took little time for Nürnberg to establish themselves as a major force in German football. In fact, just prior to the 1920s the team gained the nickname "Der Club", which translates simply to "The Club".

The 1920s was a successful decade for the team, as they won the German football championship in 1920, 1921, 1924, 1925 and 1927. The 1930s brought further success, as Nürnberg won another championship in 1936 and two DFB Cups in 1935 and 1939. Sporadic success followed until the 1960s, which saw the club win two more titles, including their first Bundesliga title in 1967-68 and another DFB Cup. In 2007, Nürnberg won the DFB Cup once again, beating Stuttgart in the final to lift the trophy for the fourth time. The team's sole continental success was an Intertoto Cup win in 1968.

Some of the legendary players to play for Nürnberg over the years include names like Andreas Köpke, Heinz Strehl, Stefan Reuter, Hans Dorfner and Andreas Wolf. The club's greatest ever goalscorer was Max Morlock, who scored 294 goals for the team between 1942 and 1965.

The club has played its home matches at the Stadion Nürnberg since 1966. The ground currently has a total capacity of 48,548 for Bundesliga matches and was one of the venues used when Germany hosted the FIFA World Cup in 2006. 

Loading ...