Navy Midshipmen

About Navy Midshipmen

The Navy Midshipmen have been in operation since 1879 and represent the U.S. Naval Academy. They have enjoyed some success over the years, but in recent times Navy have found it harder to be competitive in the sport. While they currently operate as an independent, the Midshipmen have announced that they will compete in the American Athletic Conference from the 2015 season onwards.

A three-way rivalry exists between the Navy Midshipmen, the Army Black Knights and the Air Force Falcons, with the winner of the triangular series receiving the Commander in Chief's Trophy. The annual game between Navy and Army, usually played at the end of the regular season, is widely considered to be one of college football's highlights and is broadcast on CBS each year. 

In the 1926 season, Navy were named as National Champions by Boand and Houlgate. It remains their only National Title to date, although the team had previously completed an unbeaten season in 1910. The Midshipmen have played in 18 bowl games and hold a 7-10-1 record. Their most recent appearance came in the 2012 Kraft Fight Hunger Bowl and their most recent win occurred at the 2009 Texas Bowl.

The program has produced two Heisman Trophy winners, Joe Bellino in 1960 and Roger Staubach in 1963. As a mark of respect, both players have subsequently had their jerseys retired by the team, along with the jersey of College Football Hall of Fame inductee, Napoleon McCallum.

Since the venue's opening in 1959, Navy have played home games at Navy–Marine Corps Memorial Stadium. The stadium was used during the 1984 Olympic Games and underwent a major renovation in twenty years later, in 2004. It has a listed capacity of 34,000, but th...

Loading ...