Nebraska Cornhuskers

About Nebraska Cornhuskers

The Nebraska Cornhuskers have been active in college football since 1890 and represent the University of Nebraska–Lincoln. Over the years, they have enjoyed tremendous success in the sport and have the highest winning percentage of any college football program over the last fifty years. Historically, their main rivals have included the Oklahoma Sooners, the Colorado Buffaloes, the Missouri Tigers and the Iowa Hawkeyes. In the past, the rivalry with the Sooners has often decided the destination of major titles.

Altogether, Nebraska have claimed five National Championships. The first two wins came in back-to-back seasons in 1970 and 1971, with Bob Devaney serving as the team's head coach. During the 1990s, the Cornhuskers added three further National Titles in the space of four years, with the wins coming in 1994, 1995 and 1997.

Moreover, the team have amassed 43 Conference Championships and have completed five undefeated seasons which did not result in them being awarded National Titles. Indeed, between 1912 and 1916, they put together an unbeaten streak of 34 games. Nebraska have made appearances in 49 post-season bowl games in total and currently hold a 24-25 record.

The program has produced three Heisman Trophy winners: Johnny Rodgers in 1972, Mike Rozier in 1983 and Eric Crouch in 2001. Rodgers was also inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame and was voted the university's Player of the Century. In addition, Willis Roy Lyman, Guy Chamberlin and Bob Brown have all been inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame. 

Since 1923, the Cornhuskers have played their home games at Memorial Stadium, Lincoln. The venue is nicknamed 'the Sea of Red' due to the fact tha...

Loading ...