New Orleans Saints

About New Orleans Saints

The New Orleans Saints were founded as an NFL franchise prior to the start of the 1967 season. The team's name references All Saints Day and serves as a nod to the large number of people in the city who belong to the Catholic faith. Initially, the Saints struggled on the field and didn’t achieve a winning season until 1987.

After Hurricane Katrina wreaked havoc on the city in 2005, the New Orleans Saints were unable to play any home games during the season. As a result, their home games were played at Tiger Stadium, the Alamodome, and at Giants Stadium.

In 2006, they were able to return to the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. The first game back at their home stadium was played against the Atlanta Falcons. In an emotional game, the Saints triumphed 23-3. The game was played in front of over 70,000 fans, was given an ESPY Award for 'Best Moment in Sports' in 2007, and was watched on television by more than 10 million homes across the United States.

In 2009, the Saints enjoyed their greatest ever season, reaching Super Bowl XLIV and defeating the Indianapolis Colts to claim their first NFL Championship. The Saints have won five Division Championships and have made 10 playoff appearances, with their first coming in 1987.

New Orleans Saints Championships

Super Bowl Championships

  • 2009: New Orleans Saints 31, Indianapolis Colts 17

Notable Saints Players

  • Archie Manning
  • Rickey Jackson
  • Willie Roaf
  • Sammy Knight
  • Deuce McAllister
  • Darren Sharper
  • Joe Horn
  • Will Smith

Mercedes-Benz Superdome

The Saints play their home games at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome, formerly called the Louisiana Superdome. The stadium, which was built in 1975, is known for its use as a she...

Loading ...