New York Giants

About New York Giants

The New York Giants were first established as a National Football League franchise in 1925. Throughout history, the Giants have been one of the NFL's most successful teams. New York’s fiercest rivals are the Philadelphia Eagles. The rivalry between the two teams dates way back to the early 1930s, and it is widely regarded as one of the biggest rivalries in the league. The Giants also have a lengthy history playing against the Dallas Cowboys and Washington Redskins.

In 1958, the Giants competed in the NFL Championship Game against Johnny Unitas and the Baltimore Colts. Eventually, the Colts came out on top, winning 23-17, but the game is still regularly referred to as the 'Greatest Game Ever Played', and it was considered a huge reason for the NFL's boom in popularity heading into the 1960s.

In total, the New York Giants have won eight NFL Championships, including four during the Super Bowl era. The franchise’s first NFL Championship came in 1927, with subsequent wins in 1934, 1938, and 1956. After the AFL-NFL merger in 1970, the Giants finally returned to the top in 1986 and won later Super Bowls in 1990, 2007, and 2011.

To date, only the Green Bay Packers and Chicago Bears have won more total league championships. In addition, the Giants have won 11 Conference Championships, 16 Division Championships and have made 31 playoff appearances.

New York Giants Championships

NFL Championships

  • 1927: NFL Champions (11-1-1)
  • 1934: New York Giants 30, Chicago Bears 13
  • 1938: New York Giants 23, Green Bay Packers 17
  • 1956: New York Giants 47, Chicago Bears 7

Super Bowl Championships

  • 1986: New York Giants 39, Denver Broncos 20
  • 1990: New York Giants 20, Buffalo Bills...
Loading ...