New York Jets

About New York Jets

The New York Jets were first established in 1960. Initially called the Titans of New York, the team competed in the American Football League until the merger between the NFL and AFL in 1970. The team's main rival is the New England Patriots, although Jets fans also consider the New York Giants and Miami Dolphins to be fierce rivals as well.

The team got off to a difficult start and suffered heavy financial losses during the 1960s. Indeed, at one stage, bankruptcy seemed almost inevitable. However, in 1962, the franchise was purchased by a group led by Sonny Werblin. Werblin changed the team's name from the Titans to the Jets and installed Weeb Ewbank as head coach. Ewbank's appointment was a driving force behind the team's major success a few years later.

At the conclusion of the 1968 season, the New York Jets defeated the Baltimore Colts 16-7 to win Super Bowl III. It remains the team's greatest on-field achievement. In the decades which followed, the team endured some difficult times, especially during the 1970s and 1990s. After failing to make the postseason once during the 1970s, the team recovered to make four playoff appearances the next decade.

In total, the Jets have made 14 playoff appearances, including six appearances between 2001 and 2010. In addition, the team won Division Championships in 1968, 1969, 1998, and 2002.

New York Jets Championships

AFL Championships

  • 1968: New York Jets 27, Oakland Raiders 23

Super Bowl Championships

  • 1968: New York Jets 16, Baltimore Colts 7

Notable Jets Players

  • Joe Namath
  • Don Maynard
  • Winston Hill
  • Joe Klecko
  • Freeman McNeil
  • Al Toon
  • Wesley Walker
  • Mark Gastineau
  • Curtis Martin

MetLife Stadium


Loading ...