New York Red Bulls

Founded In
Secaucus, New Jersey, USA

About New York Red Bulls

The New York Red Bulls were established in 1995 as the New York/New Jersey MetroStars. From 1998 until 2005 the club was known simply as the MetroStars. The club represents the New York metropolitan area and was one of the original franchises to compete in Major League Soccer. The Red Bull's main rivals are D.C. United and the two teams compete against each other every year in the Atlantic Cup.

In 2006, the energy drinks company Red Bull purchased the club and began work on a re-branding procedure. They gave the team a complete overhaul, changing its kit, badge and name. The purchase helped to elevate the club's status and in subsequent years the team have signed several high profile players.

Despite the high profile signings and elevated status, the team remains the only founding member of the MLS to never win a major trophy. The New York Red Bulls' best performance in MLS came in 2008, when the team reached the MLS Cup final, although they lost out to the Columbus Crew. The Red Bulls were also runners up in the U.S Open Cup in 2003 and did win the Eastern Conference regular season in both 2000 and 2010.

The club's biggest ever signing was former French World Cup winner, Thierry Henry, who joined in 2010. Other notable players to represent the Red Bulls over the years include: Youri Djorkaeff, Lothar Matthäus, Claudio Reyna, Tim Howard, Juninho Pernambucano, Rafael Márquez and Tim Cahill. The club's record goal scorer is Colombian striker Juan Pablo Ángel, who scored 58 goals in total and 19 in 2007, the most of any Red Bulls player in a single season.

Since 2010, the Red Bulls have played home matches at the Red Bull Arena in New Jersey. The stadium, contructed specifically for the team, has a total capacity of 25,189 for league matches. 

Loading ...