Newcastle United

Founded In
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, England

About Newcastle United

Newcastle United Football Club was founded in 1892, by the merger of Newcastle East End and Newcastle West End. The club has been a member of the Premier League for all but two years of the competition's history, and never dropped below the English football's second tier, since joining the Football League in 1893. 

They have won four League titles and six FA Cups. The club has the eighth highest total of major honours won by an English club. The club's most successful period was between 1904 and 1910, when they won an FA Cup and three of their First Division titles.

During the 1950s, Newcastle won the FA Cup on three occasions within a five-year period, beating Blackpool, Arsenal and Manchester City FC in ’51, ’52 and ’55 respectively. However, the club was relegated to the Second Division at the end of the 1961 season.

In the 1990’s, Geordie favourite, Kevin Keegan took Newcastle to two consecutive runners-up finishes in the Premier League coming very close to winning the title. This success was in part due to the talent of players like Les Ferdinand and Alan Shearer, who was signed on 30 July 1996 for a then world record fee of £15 million.

St. James’ Park is has been their home ground since the clubs inception. The stadium was developed into an all-seater in the mid-1990s and now has a capacity of 52,387.

Major Honours

Inter-Cities Fairs Cup (UEFA Cup) 1969

First Division Champions 1905, 1907, 1909, 1927

FA Cup 1910, 1924, 1932, 1951, 1952, 1955

Loading ...