Founded In
Norrköping, Sweden

About Norrköping

Idrottsföreningen Kamraterna Norrköping, commonly known as IFK Norrköping, was established in May 1897. Over the years, they have been one of Sweden's most successful clubs, achieving significant levels of success at domestic level. Historically, IK Sleipner were the side's biggest rivals, but this rivalry has diminished with IK Sleipner's descent to the lower levels of the league system. As a result, today, their main rivals are Åtvidabergs FF.

The club's most successful era came under the management of Lajos Czeizler in the 1940s. During his time in charge, Norrköping were crowned Swedish champions on five occasions, with those wins coming in 1942–43, 1944–45, 1945–46, 1946–47 and 1947–48. In addition, Czeizler's side lifted the Svenska Cupen in both 1943 and 1945 and were runners up in 1944.

Altogether, Norrköping have won the Allsvenskan on twelve occasions, with their most recent win coming in 1992. The team also won the Allsvenskan playoffs on one occasion, in 1989. This league success currently leaves them as the third most successful team in Sweden, behind Malmö FF and IFK Göteborg. In terms of other domestic success, the club have lifted the Svenska Cupen six times. Norrköping have competed in several European competitions, including the European Cup during the 1950s and 1960s, although they have never made it beyond the last 16 phase of any continental tournament.

Former Swedish international Åke Johansson holds the record for most senior appearances, while Henry Källgren is the side's record league goal scorer. Other notable players to play for the team include Ove Kindvall, Jan Eriksson and Tomas Brolin.

Norrköping play their home matches at Nya Parken, which is also known as Idrottsparken. It first opened in 1904, although was rebuilt between 2008 and 2009. The venue hosted games during the 1958 World Cup and the 1992 European Championships and is currently able to hold up to 16,700 supporters.

Loading ...