North Carolina State Wolfpack

About North Carolina State Wolfpack

The North Carolina State Wolfpack football team, often known more simply as the NC State Wolfpack, have a history dating back to 1892. The team represents North Carolina State University and joined the Atlantic Coast Conference in 1953. Their main rivals include the North Carolina Tar Heels, the East Carolina Pirates and the Clemson Tigers. The matchup with the Tigers is known as the Textile Bowl and is the team's oldest major rivalry, dating back to 1899.

Earle Edwards was appointed as the team's head coach in 1954 and remained with the team util 1970. He master-minded the Wolfpack's first Atlantic Coast Conference win in 1957 and it was during his spell as coach that the team enjoyed its greatest period of success, during the 1960s. Over the course of the decade, the Wolfpack won Atlantic Coast Conference Championships four more times, with those wins coming in 1963, 1964, 1965 and 1968.

In total, North Carolina State have claimed eleven Conference Championships, with one win in the Southern Conference and seven wins since joining the Atlantic Coast Conference. Their most recent Conference Championship came in the 1979 season, with Bo Rein as the head coach. The team have appeared in 27 bowl games and currently have a post-season bowl record of 14–12–1. 

Notable former players include Roman Gabriel, who was the number one overall draft pick in the 1962 AFL Draft; Mario Williams, who was the number one overall draft pick in the 2006 NFL Draft; Jim Ritcher, who won the 1979 Outland Trophy and Dennis Byrd, who was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2011.

Since 1966, the team have played their home games at Carter–Finley Stadium. The venue has been expan...

Loading ...