North Carolina Tar Heels

About North Carolina Tar Heels

The North Carolina Tar Heels football team have been active since 1888 and represent the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Over the years, they have achieved substantial success and have produced a number of players who have gone on to compete in the National Football League. Their main rivals include the Duke Blue Devils, the North Carolina State Wolfpack, the Virginia Cavaliers and the Wake Forest Demon Deacons.

According to several historians, the Tar Heels have a special place in football history, because they pioneered the modern use of the forward pass. This significant contribution to the sport is said to have originated in a game against the Bulldogs back in 1895. The play was devised in order to break the deadlock and North Carolina went on to win 6-0.

In total, the team have won nine Conference Championships, which includes three wins in the Southern Conference. In 1953, the Tar Heels became a founding member of the Atlantic Coast Conference and they have amassed five Conference title wins in the ACC. In addition, the team have competed in 29 bowl games throughout their history and have a post-season record of 13-16. Most recently, they appeared in the Independence Bowl in 2011.

Notable former players include Art Weiner, Charlie Justice and Don McCauley, who have all been inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. Furthermore, two former Tar Heels, Lawrence Taylor and Chris Hanburger, have been enshrined into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Kenan Memorial Stadium has served as the team's home since its opening in 1927. Initially, the venue had a capacity of 24,000, but this has been expanded multiple times over the decades. The most recent re...

Loading ...