North Texas Mean Green

About North Texas Mean Green

The North Texas Mean Green have represented the University of North Texas in college football since 1913. They currently have an all-time winning record and are closing in on 500 wins in total. Their main rivals are the SMU Mustangs, with whom they contest the 'Safeway Bowl', as well as the Middle Tennessee Blue Raiders.

With the North Texas program struggling to stay at Division I-A level, Hayden Fry was hired as head coach in 1973 and quickly turned the team around. During his stay, the Mean Green achieved a winning record, which included a 10-1 season in 1977 and a 9-2 record in 1978. However, after Fry left, the program's debts were mounting and the NCAA demoted North Texas to Division I-AA. A period of little success followed and they would not return to Division I-A status until 1995.

Over the years, the team have won 25 Conference Championships; a total which is made up of eight wins in the Lone Star Conference, five wins in the Gulf Coast Conference, six wins in the Missouri Valley Conference, two wins in the Southland Conference and four wins since joining the Sun Belt Conference. In addition, the Mean Green have appeared in six Division I FBS bowl games and currently have a 1-5 record. Their sole victory came in the 2002 New Orleans Bowl, where they beat the Cincinnati Bearcats 24-19.

"Mean" Joe Greene is the program's best-known former player and the team adopted their nickname from him. Greene was a 10-time Pro Bowl selection, who went on to be inducted into both the Pro and College Football Hall of Fame. Other notable alumni include Abner Haynes and Ray Renfro.

Apogee Stadium has hosted North Texas' home games since 2011. The venue was built at a cost of ...

Loading ...