Notre Dame Fighting Irish

About Notre Dame Fighting Irish

The Notre Dame Fighting Irish have been active since 1887 and represent the University of Notre Dame. The team have been one of the most successful in all of college football, winning a large number of titles and producing 97 consensus All-Americans; an NCAA record. Their main rivals are the USC Trojans, the Navy Midshipmen, the Michigan Wolverines and the Michigan State Spartans. The rivalry with USC is seen as their most significant, as well as one of the most important in college football.

At present, the Notre Dame program is seen as one of the most valuable programs in all of the NCAA. They are currently the only individual college to have negotiated their own national television contract and, as a result, their home games are broadcast on 'Notre Dame Football on NBC'. Despite being an independent program, they are also part of the BCS coalition.

In total, the program currently claims eleven National Titles, with those wins coming in 1924, 1929, 1930, 1943, 1946, 1947, 1949, 1966, 1973, 1977 and most recently in 1988. However, many sources, including the NCAA, cite them as 13-time consensus National Champions. The NCAA list 1919 and 1964 as National Championship-winning years for Notre Dame, while other sources have awarded them titles in 1938 and 1953 as well. Throughout history, the team have spent a collective total of more than 90 weeks at the top of the AP Poll. They have appeared in 32 bowl games and possess a 15-17 record.

Seven former players have won the Heisman Trophy: Angelo Bertelli, Johnny Lujack, Leon Hart, Johnny Lattner, Paul Hornung, John Huarte and Tim Brown. In addition, over 40 players have been inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame, incl...

Loading ...