Oakland Raiders

About Oakland Raiders

Founded in 1960, the Oakland Raiders began life in the American Football League. Prior to the league's merger with the NFL in 1970, head coach Al Davis and the Raiders won the AFL Championship Game in 1967. The Raiders subsequently joined the NFL in 1970. The Denver Broncos and the Kansas City Chiefs are amongst the team's biggest rivals, while games against the San Francisco 49ers are dubbed the 'Battle of the Bay'.

In 1982, Davis moved the franchise to Los Angeles, CA and the team's name was changed to the Los Angeles Raiders. During this period, the Raiders played home games at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum. However, the Coliseum lacked modern facilities, was located in a dangerous neighborhood, and the capacity was deemed too big to fill on a regular basis. Davis began negotiating for a return to Oakland in 1989 and this move was completed in 1995.

Aside from their AFL Championship in 1967, the Raiders have won three NFL League Championships. The first title came as a result of beating the Minnesota Vikings in Super Bowl XI. A second championship came at the conclusion of the 1980 season, with a win over the Philadelphia Eagles in Super Bowl XV. Oakland grabbed one more Lombardi Trophy following a Super Bowl XVIII victory over the Washington Redskins. In total, the team has won four Conference Championships, 15 Division Championships and has made 21 postseason appearances.

Oakland Raiders Championships

AFL Championships

  • 1967: Oakland Raiders 40, Houston Oilers 7

Super Bowl Championships

  • 1976: Oakland Raiders 32, Minnesota Vikings 14
  • 1980: Oakland Raiders 27, Philadelphia Eagles 10
  • 1983: Los Angeles Raiders 38, Washington Redskins 9

Notable Raiders Pl...

Loading ...