Oklahoma Sooners

About Oklahoma Sooners

The Oklahoma Sooners football team have been active since 1895 and represent the University of Oklahoma. Since the end of the Second World War, they have been the most successful college football team in the country and many of the players who have come through the program have gone on to huge success in the National Football League. Their main rivals are the Texas Longhorns and the Oklahoma State Cowboys. Previously, a strong rivalry also existed with the Nebraska Cornhuskers.

Up until 1914, the Sooners competed as an independent. The team became part of the Southwest Conference in 1915 and then moved to the Missouri Valley Intercollegiate Athletic Association in 1920. The team have remained there ever since. Today, the conference is known as the Big 12.

In total, Oklahoma have won seven consensus National Championships, with those wins coming in 1950, 1955, 1956, 1974, 1975, 1985 and 2000. In addition, the NCAA recognises another nine titles, in 1949, 1953, 1956, 1957, 1967, 1973, 1978, 1986 and 2003, meaning that the NCAA recognises a total of 16 National Championship wins for the Sooners. Furthermore, Oklahoma have claimed 44 Conference Championships and the program has produced 75 Consensus All-Americans.

Over the years, five Sooners players have been awarded the Heisman Trophy: Billy Vessels, Steve Owens, Billy Sims, Jason White and Sam Bradford. White and Bradford were both also named the Associated Press College Football Player of the Year for those years. To date, the team has produced 17 players who went on to be enshrined in the College Football Hall of Fame.

Since 1923, the Sooners have played their home games at the Gaylord Family Oklahoma Memorial Stadiu...

Loading ...