Ole Miss Rebels

About Ole Miss Rebels

Representing the University of Mississippi, the Ole Miss Rebels have been active in college football since 1890. The team have enjoyed significant success over the years and currently compete in the Western Division of the Southeastern Conference. The team's main rivals are the Mississippi State Bulldogs, the LSU Tigers, the Arkansas Razorbacks, the Vanderbilt Commodores and the Alabama Crimson Tide.

The most successful period on the team's history came in the late 1950s and early 1960s, during John Vaught's spell as head coach. During this time, the Rebels were credited with three National Championships by various sources, with those wins coming in 1959, 1960 and 1962. However, the team did not top either the AP Poll or the Coaches Poll at the end of any of those seasons.

Since joining the Southeastern Conference in 1932, the team have also amassed six Conference Championships, in 1947, 1954, 1955, 1960, 1962 and 1963. All six of these titles were also won during John Vaught's time with the program. In 2003, Ole Miss won the SEC West Division Title. In total, the team have appeared in 34 post-season bowl games and possess a 22-12 record. Their most recent win came in the 2013 BBVA Compass Bowl, where they beat the Pittsburgh Panthers.

To date, two Ole Miss alumni have been inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame: Frank M. Kinard in 1970 and Gene Hickerson in 2007. In addition, several other former players have been enshrined in the College Football Hall of Fame, including Charlie Conerly, Barney Poole, Archie Manning and Charlie Flowers.

The Rebels play their home games at Vaught–Hemingway Stadium at Hollingsworth Field. The venue, which is named after John Vaugh...

Loading ...