Oregon State Beavers

About Oregon State Beavers

The Oregon State Beavers have been playing intercollegiate football since 1893, representing Oregon State University in Corvallis.

Despite an all-time record (446-518-36) below .500, the Beavers have enjoyed significant success on the field, including a Heisman Award winner, five conference titles and eight consensus All-Americans. Oregon State is 9-6 in 15 bowl games during its 97-year-history.

Having started out as an independent school, Oregon State joined the Northwest Intercollegiate Association in 1902 and remained there until 1914. The team subsequently spent several decades as part of the Pacific Coast Conference before leaving in 1958. After another spell as an independent, the Beavers joined the Pacific-8 Conference in 1964. Today, they play in the Pacific-12 Conference, as part of the league's North Division.

Oregon State Conference Titles

  • 1941: Pacific Coast Conference
  • 1956: Pacific Coast Conference
  • 1957: Pacific Coast Conference
  • 1964: Athletic Association of Western Universities (Pac-12)
  • 2000: Pacific-12

Quarterback Terry Baker is the lone Beaver to win a Heisman Award, claiming the hardware during the 1962 season. All told, roughly 150 Oregon State alums have gone on to play in the NFL and AFL. Wide receiver Brandin Cooks (2013) is the last Beaver to claim Consensus All-American honors.

Notable Beavers’ Coaches and Players

  • Terry Baker
  • Rich Brooks
  • Bob Grim
  • Steven Jackson
  • Chad Johnson
  • Paul Lowe
  • Pellom McDaniels
  • Vic Sears
  • George Svendsen
  • Len Younce

Oregon State’s primary rivals are the Oregon Ducks, with whom they contest the Civil War, one of the most-played games in college football history. The Beaver...

Loading ...