Penn State Nittany Lions

About Penn State Nittany Lions

The Penn State Nittany Lions represent the Pennsylvania State University and have been active in the intercollegiate game since 1888. They have rivalries with a number of schools, including Alabama, Michigan State, Minnesota, Nebraska and Ohio State.

In 2011, former assistant coach, Jerry Sandusky, was arrested and charged with a string of sexual assaults on underage boys at the university. Several others were caught up in the scandal, including the team's legendary head coach, Joe Paterno. It was said that Paterno had failed to notify the police of an incident he had heard evidence of. The outrage eventually led to his dismissal. After Sandusky was conviced of the assaults, the NCAA fined the Penn State program $60 million, imposed a four year ban from bowl games on the team and vacated all of their wins from 1998 to 2011.

Over the years, the team have completed seven unbeaten and untied seasons. They have won two consensus National Championships, with the wins coming in 1982 and 1986. Other selectors have named them as National Champions in 1911, 1912, 1969, 1981 and 1994. The team has spent most of its history as an independent, but joined the Big Ten Conference in 1990. Since that time, they have won three Big Ten Conference Championships, in 1994, 2005 and 200, although the latter two were rescinded as part of their punishment for the sex abuse scandal.

Notable former players include the 1973 Heisman Trophy winner, John Cappelletti; Pro Football Hall of Fame inducteee, Dave Robinson and the 1994 Chicago Tribune Silver Football and Maxwell Award winner, Kerry Collins.

The team play their home games at Beaver Stadium, formerly known as Beaver Field. The venue opene...

Loading ...