Philadelphia Eagles

About Philadelphia Eagles

The Philadelphia Eagles were founded in 1933 as a replacement franchise for the Frankford Yellow Jackets, who were declared bankrupt in 1931. The team's fiercest rivals are the New York Giants. The rivalry between the two teams dates back to 1933, making it one of the oldest rivalries in the league, and the NFL Network named it the greatest rivalry of all time.

At the end of the 1980 season, the Eagles made their first ever Super Bowl appearance, taking on the Oakland Raiders at Super Bowl XV. However, the Eagles lost the game 27-10. In February 2005, the team returned to the title game to face the New England Patriots in Super Bowl XXXIX. Once again, the Eagles fell in defeat, losing a close contest 24-21. 

The Eagles have won three NFL Championships over the years, although all three victories came prior to the merger between the NFL and AFL in 1970. In the years after the Second World War, the team excelled on the field, culminating in League Championship wins in 1948 and 1949. The 1948 win came after a 7-0 victory over the Chicago Cardinals in the Championship Game, while the following year, they beat the Los Angeles Rams to claim the title.

In 1960, the team returned to the NFL Championship Game and won 17-13 over the Green Bay Packers. In total, the Eagles have won three Conference Championships, 12 Division Championships and have made 24 playoff appearances.

Philadelphia Eagles Championships

NFL Championships

  • 1948: Philadelphia Eagles 7, Chicago Cardinals 0
  • 1949: Philadelphia Eagles 14, Los Angeles Rams 0
  • 1960: Philadelphia Eagles 17, Green Bay Packers 13

Notable Eagles Players

  • Chuck Bednarik
  • Bert Bell
  • Earle Neale
  • Pete Pihos
  • Steve Van ...
Loading ...